Chance The Rapper–Coloring Book

Maybe it’s his recent Grammy wins of “Best New Artist”, “Best Rap Album”, and “Best Rap Performance” or maybe it’s the new buzz of his tour dates coming out, but something compelled me to write about Chance The Rapper and his amazing album Coloring Book this week. Chance, as an artist, is extremely unique. While like others he had some struggles in his upbringing, he lets this factor influence him in a very different way than most rappers. Instead of the typical sex, drugs, and money topics, Chance raps about more meaningful things. For example, my personal favorite on his 2016 Coloring Book is a song called “Blessings”. In this song, he preaches about how when he sends up praises to God, blessings just keep coming down. I think it is so refreshing and inspiring to see a rap artist, who is constantly profiled and stereotyped, rap and speak about something of importance, that can really speak to listeners. His Spring tour dates were just released and I fully believe that tickets will sell out in no time. His fan base is huge due to his compelling sound and meaningful lyrics. I just bought my tickets for Charlotte, NC and I absolutely cannot wait to see him in person and get the full on experience of his incredible music.

picture source: https://soundcloud.com/chancetherapper/sets/coloring-book

 

3 thoughts on “Chance The Rapper–Coloring Book

  1. I can say without a doubt that your going to enjoy this concert. I saw him this fall in Raleigh. He knows how to give his audience what they want. I wrote about his concert in one of my first blogs. One of the things that struck me is how much the audience was a part of his show. I feel like his sound is incredibly unique, a little, jazz a little gospel, and a little rap but put together in a way nobody has done before. GQ wrote an interesting article about him you might want to check out. http://www.gq.com/story/how-chance-the-rappers-life-became-perfect

    Like

  2. I love how he came up to be a rapper. I also love what he raps about. It is actually relatable and very powerful and meaningful. I really enjoyed this post about him. I always feel that he is appreciated when he has such great talent.

    Like

Leave a Reply

