The Girl On The Train

Reading has always been a hobby of mine. I read a ton of Young Adult fiction (mainly romance) in high school and while its been hard to read for pleasure in college, I still try to make time for it. One of my favorites of all time was The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins. This book is meaningful, thrilling, depressing, hilarious, romantic, and so much more. It’s been compared to Gone Girl and many other popular, female lead thrillers. The book itself is amazing, but also (surprisingly) the movie is awesome too. I am a big “the book is better than the movie” kind of person. The Girl On The Train was a pleasant surprise to me. The movie stuck very close to the book without being awkward and I really enjoyed the cast because they corresponded so well with what I came up with in my head while reading. Gone Girl was always one of my favorite movies, and I think The Girl On The Train lives up to this comparison, and then some. It’s a very complex story with many surprises, twists, and turns. The main character, Rachel, is having a hard time coping with her divorce and loss of her job–but then something happens that makes her situation harder than she ever thought it would be. It’s very complicated to describe and summarize the story of this book in depth without giving away a majority of the surprises, but I can say I would 100% recommend the book and movie to everyone!

Leave a Reply

