Collateral Beauty

I was trying to figure out what I wanted to review this week and it was quite a struggle. However, I was reminded by my mom of all the movies we went and saw in theater over Christmas Break. My mom and I are really close, and I think it has a lot to do with the fact that we are so much alike. We absolutely love going to the movies. There has been so much talk about how going to the movies is overrated because you can find anything online now and it is so much cheaper to go to Redbox and get a bunch of candy and popcorn from CVS, rather than spend $20 on just a ticket and a teeny-tiny box of Mike and Ikes. Nonetheless, Mom & I love the movie theater “experience”. Getting to the movie early to see all of the previews with a purse full of sneaked-in candy & a mountain of popcorn is “our thing”. Over winter break we saw 3 movies within 1 week which is kind of a lot. Collateral Beauty was my absolute favorite. I’m not sure if it was Will Smith and his outstanding talent, or the fact that it was around the holidays and I was with my wonderful family, but I cried my eyes out the entire time. Smith’s character, Howard, is a successful, intelligent, and thoughtful man who recently lost his six year old daughter. He sends letters to Time, Love, and Death and receives more of an answer than he ever anticipated. As the story unfolds Howard realizes that the way he is grieving is not working and is bringing more harm to himself, as well as everyone around him. Kate Winslet, Keira Knightley, Helen Mirrenhe, and the rest of this incredible cast all play crucial roles in taking the story to new places, where it has significantly more meaning than initially meets the eye. This amazing story of love, death, and time not only tugs on the heart strings, but also surprises the audience more than they would ever expect.

Picture Source– http://static.tumblr.com/3b1f1517c82f17852d1a12eb1dbdfa2b/rvnxpnd/BBWoezwzo/tumblr_static_7frohm0d3zc4o8s808k88k04k.jpg

 

2 thoughts on “Collateral Beauty

  1. I love going to the movies even though it’s WAY over priced. I went to see Finding Dorey with my mom, we are super close too. I also just went to the movies the other day to see 50 Shades Darker which I highly recommend. It was a great movie and well worth paying $10 to see it once.

    I never heard of the movie you mentioned in your post, but I love Will Smith so I will definitely check it out!

    Like

  2. My family and I are big on movies and watch them all the time too! We just got my dad a firestick for Christmas which is probably feeding to the addiction but that’s okay haha. But when it comes to romantic/ drama movies, that’s what me and my mom live for. There’s nothing better that cuddling up and watching movies with your mom. Me and my mom are really close too and I feel like as I’m getting older I’m becoming more like her every day! I haven’t heard of this movie but I love Will Smith and enjoy everything he’s in so I’m definitely going to have to watch this next time I go home!

    Like

Leave a Reply

